Cheap Car Insurance in Utah
The state of Utah is similar to most of the other states for requiring its drivers to purchase car insurance before they can drive legally in the state, and it doesn’t have to be very expensive. Finding cheap car insurance in Utah is easy when people know the coverage they need and know how to compare rates get the lowest price.
Utah’s Car Insurance Laws
Utah has strict rules when it comes to car insurance. It’s a state that does not allow people to make a deposit with the comptroller or self-insure; therefore, absolutely everyone who plans to drive a vehicle in Utah must purchase car insurance.
Utah is also a no-fault insurance state. This means that after a car crash, the authorities will not determine who caused the accident to have the at-fault party pay the medical bills. For this purpose, everyone must have Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance. Even so, drivers in Utah are still mandated to have liability insurance.
Liability and Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance
Although Utah limits the instances when its drivers can sue each other, car accident-related lawsuits are not completely forbidden. For the times when drivers may need to take financial responsibility for another driver’s medical bills, Utah drivers must have $25,000 for the medical bills of one person. For everyone injured in the accident, each driver must have $65,000 bodily injury liability coverage.
Because no state is a 100 percent no-fault state, the property damages caused by a car crash are subject to the tort system. For the purpose taking financial responsibility for property damages, each Utah driver must buy $15,000 of property damage liability coverage.
Utah drivers are required to have at least $3,000 of PIP coverage. As Utah drivers are involved in car collisions, each driver will file a claim with his or her own car insurance company for the PIP insurance coverage. PIP insurance pays the medical bills of the policy holder and the passengers in the policy holders’ vehicles.
After purchasing the required limits for PIP and liability coverage, Utah drivers will need to make sure that they can prove that they are adequately insured. They must do this by carrying their proof of insurance cards within their vehicles at all times. If they do not have proof of insurance and they are stopped by law enforcement, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will be notified; anyone driving without auto insurance also receives a Class B misdemeanor.
Compare Quotes to Find Cheap Utah Auto Insurance
Drivers may find cheap car insurance in Utah just by entering their zip codes into the field. That’s all they have to do to receive several free car insurance quotes from local and national car insurance companies and agencies.
Car insurance rates in Utah can be much lower than the national average, but in some cities, like West Valley City, the average car insurance rates are much higher. People in The Beehive State have the opportunity to find cheap car insurance in Utah just by filling in their zip codes now. You can get free quotes, compare rates, and save!