Cheap Car Insurance in Rhode Island
Rhode Island may be a small state in a geographic sense but that doesn’t mean auto insurance rates will be low. Studies have shown that Rhode Island has some of the highest insurance rates in the nation. That is why it is very important for drivers to find cheap car insurance in Rhode Island.
What are the minimum requirements for Rhode Island car insurance?
Rhode Island requires a minimum Bodily Injury Liability limit of $25,000 per person and up to $50,000 per accidents. The Property Damage Liability coverage will have a minimum limit of $25,000. Rhode Island basic coverage is also known as 25/50/25 with a minimum of 25/50 uninsured motorist bodily injury limits.
These are only the minimum limits required for drivers by law. Most drivers need more protection to better protect themselves, their families, and their assets and should opt for higher optional limits. Also, even though personal injury protection is not required, it is to have on your insurance policy as it provides benefits for medical bills, lost wages, funeral expenses, and other economic damages to the driver and passengers, regardless of fault.
Even though coverage such as collision and comprehensive is not required by state law, they may be required if your vehicle is being financed. Lending institutions want this coverage on the vehicles to protect their loans in the event of a collision or theft. Lending institutions may also required gap coverage, which covers the different between the amount that is owed on the car, and its market value.
Why is Rhode Island insurance so expensive?
Auto insurance rates are mostly tied to the risk of a claim to the insurance company. The more claims there are per driver, the higher insurance rates will be.
Inclement weather and increased risk of accidents can be a primary reason for increased premiums. With Rhode Island’s weather, roads often get icy from the proximity of the water to the roads, and there is an increase propensity for accidents.
The consequences for being an uninsured driver in Rhode Island are stiff. The DMV may fine the driver for not being properly insured and the driver may lose his or her license until the situation can be resolved. The fines can often be hefty and the temporary interruption of driving privileges can be inconvenient. Consumers should ensure that they are always properly insured to remain in compliance with the law.
Is Rhode Island a No-Fault Insurance State?
No. Rhode Island follows the Tort System. In the event of the accident, the authorities must determine who was at fault to determine which party will be responsible for the damages caused by the accident. The insurance company and the driver at fault will be responsible for all damages.
Tips For Finding Cheap Car Insurance in Rhode Island
Consumers need to search for discounts such as safe driver, accident free driver, good student and multiple policies to lower their premiums. It is worth the time to comparison shop between companies and see who can offer the most coverage and service at the lowest rates.
Attention drivers that need cheap car insurance in Rhode Island can – simply enter your zip code on our site to obtain a free, no obligation quotes. We make it easy to find some of the cheapest rates available!