Cheap Car Insurance in Louisiana
The Internet provides a great starting place when trying to find cheap car insurance in Louisiana. Insurance providers are competing for your business, and when you compare rates for liability, comprehensive and collision protection using a convenient matching service the odds are you will locate a policy that exactly fits the bill.
Louisiana state law requires you to carry liability insurance when you operate a vehicle. This coverage protects you should you be the cause of an accident and there is personal injury and/or property damage to another party. When shopping online for cheap auto insurance in Louisiana, you will be asked to enter your zip code or state of residence so that this coverage can automatically be included in your quote.
Minimum Louisiana Insurance
Louisianans must carry an auto insurance policy that covers non-fault parties in the amounts of 15/30/25. This means that the policy must provide for at least $15,000 in coverage for each person injured in an accident caused by you, a total of at least $30,000 for all persons injured and a minimum of $25,000 to cover vehicle damage or damage to other personal property of the innocent party. Drivers have the opportunity to purchase a policy with totals exceeding these amount and many do so because of the rising costs of medical care and vehicle repair costs.
Saving Money By Combining Coverage
You may wish to protect your vehicle against damage regardless of who is at fault in the accident. This is called collision insurance and can be purchased in varying amounts. Combining collision insurance with comprehensive protection is very cost effective and when a full policy of liability, collision and comprehensive coverage is taken out by the vehicle owner, there is even greater savings.
When shopping online for car insurance, the initial quotes given may show a recommended package that includes liability and collision insurance. If your vehicle is being financed the lender will require collision insurance anyway, but you can change the total amount of protection desired. In this way you can view several different quotes from the same lender and compare this to the same packages offered by competitors.
In Louisiana, the law does not require personal injury protection or uninsured motorist coverage, but you may very well want to include these in your policy. You will have the opportunity to click on these coverage types and check the premium totals quoted; in many circumstances adding PIP or uninsured motorist protection will only cost a few more dollars when the full liability and collision coverage is already being accepted.
How to Save on Louisiana Insurance
Louisiana drivers usually pay some of the highest auto insurance in the country. According to a 2011 study published by insure.com, the average Louisiana driver pays a whopping $2,453 for insurance. This is nearly $900 more than the U.S. average. This makes looking for savings on Louisiana auto insurance very important.
Instead of making one phone call after another or visiting countless insurance agencies, why not get numerous quotes simultaneously? Enter your zip code now on our site and get connected to a real-time database that connects you to cheap car insurance in Louisiana.